A Fine Line: Graffiti and the Power of Dissent: Beacon, NY


Ethan Cohen Gallery at the KuBe Art Center

211 Fishkill Ave, Beacon, NY 12508

Opening Reception: May 13, 3 – 6 pm

Ethan Cohen Gallery at the KuBe Art Center are pleased to present a summer group exhibition, A Fine Line: Graffiti and the Power of Dissent, curated by Joseph Ayers and Ethan Cohen.  The exhibition presents artists who use the power of line and gesture in their work to convey messages of subversion. How does the hand guide lines of dissent in contemporary art, and in what ways do artists use their personal language and experience to speak out against conventions and injustice? 


A Fine Line: Graffiti and the Power of Dissent, mixes together local Hudson Valley artists, along with acclaimed international artists, who answer these questions from both personal and political perspectives.  Ranging from representational portraiture and figurative work, to non-objective abstraction, graffiti tagging and more, A Fine Line explores those gestures that question the established structures and conventional boundaries that define our lives.


Featured Artists: Franc Palaia, Diane Green, Mike Long, Rachael Sage, Joe Radoccia, Paul Pisoni, Brian Buono, Ori Alon-Ray, Brian Walters, Harvey Weiss, Stephen Mallon, Johan Wahlstrom, Jennifer Sarah Blakeslee, Deb Lucke, Ann Provan, David Provan, Alejandro Avakian, Aboudia, Juliannah Francina, Pan Xing Lei, Rafael Fuchs, Qin Feng, Cordy Ryman, Shinoda, Corole Kunstadt, Liu Tian Wei, Jon Tsoi, Adam Lister, Gabriel Hurrier, CC Wang, Jeffrey Spencer Hargrave, Lacey Fekishazy, Li Daiyun, Michael Zelehoski, Jason Durham, Jeannie Motherwell, Mina Cheon, Greg Slick, Lara Birgit Kamhi, Ushio Shinohara, Bailey Bob Bailey, Garbriel Shuldiner, Zhang Hongtu, Ben Birillo, Paul Paiement, Lan Zhenghui, Karlos Carcamo, Edwin Schlossberg, Akito Nara, Jeannie Weissglass, Armand Boua, Mile Saula, Kenneth Millington, Yigal Ozeri, Ali Kazim, Claudia Coca, Xu Bing, Huang Yan, Michael Hu, Han Zeng, Hui Chen, Jan Dolan, Marylin Mitchel, Avelino Sala, Donna Mikkelsen, Jeff White, Naoto Nakagawa, Aya Uekawa, James Case Leal, Liu Wei, Basmat Levin, Innocent Nkurunziza, Elizabeth Castagna, Emil Alzamora, Sunil Karg